STRAWBERRY MANSION | LARGEST HOUSE IN FAIRMOUNT PARK
2450 STRAWBERRY MANSION DRIVE. Last night after a four year restoration and preservation effort of the largest historic house in Fairmount Park, including its unique collection of antiques, fine art and collectible treasures from the 18th and 19th century the historic Strawberry Mansion had a grand re-opening celebration.
Built and expanded in both the Federal and Empire periods, the mansion houses antiques, fine art, and collectibles from the 18th and 19th century. In 1930, in an effort to celebrate the magnificence of the extraordinary home, the Committee of 1926, a group of public-spirited women, restored Historic Strawberry Mansion and opened it to public as an historic house museum the following year.
For a complete view of the images or to order prints and digital downloads from this event please select this link or the “Oct 17, 2013 Historic Strawberry Mansion’s Grand Re-Opening Celebration” album in the right column of this photo weblog.
Formerly known as “Summerville,” Historic Strawberry Mansion was built in 1789 by Judge William Lewis, a well-known lawyer and abolitionist, as a summer home along the Schuylkill River. In 1825, its second owner, Judge Joseph Hemphill, added the first of two Greek-revival style wings to the home. The structure of the house remains largely unchanged to this day, and has become one of the most celebrated, historic houses in Philadelphia.